Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-19-2016, 01:54 AM   #1
Almost There

Year: 98
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: D
Engine: 7.2L turbo Cat C7 3126
Rated Cap: 84
First skoolie road trip was a success!

Hello all,
I've been working on my bus for about 8 months now and I just drove it from Dallas Texas to Salt Lake City Utah! My wife and I are going to be living in the bus full time in a couple weeks. Right now we are just finishing some stuff we couldn't complete before the move.
Thanks to everyone on the forum for some really great advice over the past few months, it helped a ton.

The trip took 3 and half days since my wife is scared to drive the bus (I don't blame her though, it is a very large vehicle) We averaged about 55-60 mph and 7.0 mpg. There were a few steep hills were we could only go 30-35, but the bus ran like a champ. We stopped at RV parks each night to get a good sleep and we stopped at truck stops every few hours to stretch and eat. I used a trucking app to plan the route which worked great! My bus is 13'6" tall so I like to stay on routes used by truckers.