Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-29-2016, 10:18 PM   #1

Former and Future Skoolie

Hello Skoolies! I'm looking for a bus, slowly and carefully.

We lived in a 40' converted Ward for several years while building our home. Sold it, and miss it. I'm a woodworker and photographer looking for a platform for extended photo field projects in the west (old school large format film), and a highway runner for extended trips.

Currently doing my research on getting another bus and converting it myself. I'm definitely learning how much I don't know! This site is such a great resource. Spending hours reading through posts here really drives home how important it is to make a good choice in the initial purchase, and how much work (and $$$) to expect in doing the conversion.

Currently thinking along the lines of a shorter bus (need something a little more nimble than a 40', and something I can get into parks), rear engine, Automatic with driveline retarder for mountain grades, air brakes and a strong engine (8.3?) for possible towing. Yeah, I'm looking at you Colorado! I don't know if the perfect bus with all this is actually out there but I'm taking my time to do my research and find the right one, and willing to invest a bit more up front to save myself down the line. Not sure but it looks like an "activity bus" geared for the highway with larger coach style Windows might end up being a good match?

Interior cabinetry is going to incorporate some gypsy wagon (Vardo) designs. I've got a lot of dried walnut, maple and alder set aside. Well, those are my dreams at least.

Cheers!

- Tom in Western Washington

Jekyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 09:56 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
Welcome Tom
You've definitely got the right approach toward getting the right bus to start with. You're also in a good location for getting a nice rust free bus.