Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-16-2018, 12:09 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1972
Coachwork: Bluebird
Engine: Ford 390
Talking Froggy, hopping in to say "Hi!"

Hello! I love frogs. I'm thirty-something, married with 3 dogs, no plans for human children. I live in Florida.

A few things conspired to bring me here to this forum:

1) I'm enamored with the idea of a mobile house. My husband and I acquired a dilapidated Winnebago from a coworker some years ago and it sits lost somewhere in the woods not causing them any more misery. Ever since seeing it, I've discovered a fascination with the idea of a tiny living space on wheels. I've never owned an RV, never camped in one. We visited friends at the speedway parked infield, once. I camped in a tent with family as a child. That's the absolute extent of my experience, there.

2) I am a school bus driver. We have a new driver in our district who has converted a conventional bus. It's baby blue and amazing, he shared some pictures with me and directed me here.

3) I discovered that the Frog bus is dead. Our buses have assigned animals, and this bus was just involved in an accident. It is a 2007 model year Bluebird All American. Transit, 84 passenger, rear engine. The front left corner is bent inward. The bus is now an organ donor, which means that it's probably not going to go auction, but a salvage yard. I have my heart set on acquiring it! I understand I'll likely be looking at nothing more than a shell at that point, requiring a LOT of work. But it's THE Frog bus. From my own district. I want it.

I realized that I really want to have a tiny mobile house someday. A bus may not be the easiest way to get one. I may never get one. For now, though, it's on the list of wants and wishes, up there with someday riding my bicycle coast to coast across the US. In the meantime, here I am, lurking. Hello!