Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-23-2015, 01:50 AM   #1

Getting excited!

Greetings,

One day last year I was pondering my life and really feeling like I needed a change. I'm 34, single, living on a small island, and bored! Once in a while I like to look online for parcels of land around the country out of curiosity. However I've never really quite felt like I've found where I want to call home in the sense of investing in a house, and therefore I have been renting (not cheaply either) apartments for the last 15 years which is getting a little old. So last year I was thinking about all this when the idea of a mobile home hit me like a ton of bricks, or More accurately steel and aluminumNo offense to traditional RV owners, but I find them to be a bit ugly and tacky, both inside and out. I started looking at school and coach bus conversions online and I fell in love with the idea. I'm not in the financial position to begin this project yet but I'm working on that. In the meantime I've been doing lots of research and figuring out what kind of bus id like to start with. After considering all the different types of busses, I am 95% settled on a Crown. I want a schoolie because they seem to offer the most rugged package overall and I want to be able to head off the beaten trail sometimes. From what I read, the Crowns are as tough as they get, I like the engine choices they offer, and I think they're one of the prettiest vehicles on the road! Unfortunately, The Crowns seem to have increased in price quite a bit over the last few years which seems to be partly due to the California bus replacement program. It saddens me greatly to see that they are crushing perfectly good vintage busses! I've still got much research to do on engine/transmission configurations but I know I want a manual transmission with overdrive. As far as engines, it looks like the detroit diesel 671