Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-11-2022, 03:04 PM   #1

Glad to be here

Hello, I’m new to this platform, thanks for having me. Bus conversions have been my life’s work and livelihood for the past 14 years. I’d only worked on shuttle and school buses until I recently purchased a 2003 gillig transit bus with a Cummins motor. My partner and I have been working on this particular bus for 6 months and are near completion. It has never had any issues starting or driving until a couple of weeks ago when the brutal cold hit MN. We had put anti gel fluid in with the diesel before temps plummeted thinking this would save us from gelled up lines and filters. The first day of extreme temps the bus started dying every few minutes (check engine light would come on and high idle had been on). The following day and every day since it won’t even try to turn over, lights and accessories come on but start button does nothing. We have taken the batteries into our shop most nights to warm them and charge them up, we have replaced the starter, the starter fuse and the starter relay, nothing has changed. Our next idea is the fuel filter and fuel water separator. Also, all fluids are topped off, however when the check engine light began coming on they hadn’t been, oil was just under a quart low and coolant was a half gallon low. Maybe because they were low something needs to be reset? Maybe someone here knows a lot more than me about gilligs, I have very limited knowledge. Please throw some pearls of wisdom my way if you can! Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
6E76A9B0-2A16-4881-8BB0-D0D85C345674.jpg  

Randi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2022, 03:15 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 86
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford B700
Engine: 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies
sorry
i cant help with anything gillig but basic mechanic stuff?