I'm in Florida, not licensed in Kansas, but searched Gooble for "Kansas Temporary Tag". The Kansas State link below describes Kansas Statute KSA 8-135(b). Which states, for up to 60 days from the date on the vehicle's title, the new vehicle owner may purchase a temporary tag from any Kansas County Treasurer (at that county's fee)
OR from the vehicle's selling dealer.
Acceptable proof of insurance (company id, policy # and policy expiration date) must be provided
30 DAY PERMITS. 60 Day temporary Registration KSA 8-135(b) This permit allows a Kansas resident or out-of-state resident
buying a vehicle from a Kansas dealer or resident to operate the vehicle for a period of time not to exceed 60 days from date of purchase of the vehicle (notary date).
(Kansas Revenue PFD File)
(Douglas County Website)
Lots of good info here, take your time.
This last file is a form, the state application to receive the title & registration.
Good Luck. Please update this thread so we learn how everything works with the temporary tag & title, in Kansas.
Next: Insurance. How will you be registering your bus, on the first day home? Seats in or out?
(Edit: also, read this 2015 skoolie.net thread on KS tag & title)