Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-19-2016, 06:24 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1995
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 66
Greenhorn Checking In With My First Question

Hey folks!

Another newbie here, sending salutations from Savannah! Just wanted to introduce myself and ask what could be a very loaded question... do you have any thoughts on the drawbacks/gains of a short bus versus the traditional 66 (or so) passenger rigs? No worries though, I've already gathered that size is the most apparent difference. What I'm interested in are the contrasts in performance, maintenance, ride, lifespan, etc. I apologize in advance if there is already a thread posted with regards to this topic. Must have somehow failed to find in my initial lurking efforts. Thanks to all who are active in this forum sharing their knowledge, experiences, and passion!

Ryan

rjnye79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 10:06 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Champion
Chassis: Ford e-450
Engine: 7.3 Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 14
It depends what you plan on using it for. 1 person or 6? Weekends or fulltime? Traveling the country or short trips in the summer? 40 acres or small driveway?
Most of the guts are the same-a 5.9 Cummins is the same short bus to long-maybe different trannys?
And a point I've made when people are to affixed on X motor vs. Y motor. "X motor is good for 1 million miles!" So they dismiss anything with a Y motor. How many miles you think you are actually going to put on the bus? You are never going to be putting on what the max design spec is going to be. (Full loaded running 24/7 is all conditions for 20 years.)