Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-09-2016, 12:18 PM   #1

Greetings Everyone,

Newbie here and needing all the input I can get if anyone cares to share. First being engine, I'm leaning towards cummins and auto, then dt466 and auto of which I know I need to research!. Will be pulling a 24'enclosed trailer with car and golf cart mostly IL,IN,some KY,MO, then after race season is over hit the road. will be doing a simple inside conversion as it is only at most 2 people going. Thanks in advance BILL

first1226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 01:42 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
Welcome Bill
I think you'll find all the information you need here, and if you can't find it just ask and you'll get more opinions than you wanted.
So are you looking for a long bus, 15 window?
Robin97396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 07:22 PM   #3

Greetings Everyone,

Thanks Robin, yes at least 35-40' long and going to do a as quickly as possible conv. Need or want something with the most or highest factory head room.Really not looking to do a roof raise.
Old 04-09-2016, 07:48 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
A pusher? Where abouts are you looking for buses? There are people in your area, wherever that may be. Sounds like you might be a bit of a minimalist, because the fancy builds take more time.
Robin97396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 10:33 PM   #5

Greetings Everyone

It really doesn't matter just so it has enough power to pull the aforementioned 24'enclosed trailer,car,golf cart in IL,IN KY,MO, then vacation warmer climates. That's why i'm more concerned with the cummins (i've had one 15yrs 5.9)or dt466. like what kind of life does the 466 have?,cost of injectors,injection pumps, I need to do a lot of research!! it's nice to have someones honest opinion I guess. THANKS
Old 04-09-2016, 10:43 PM   #6