Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-31-2016, 11:33 PM   #1

Greetings from Scenic Western Maryland!

Hi everyone!

Very cool resource here--I'm excited to dig in deeper and see what type of projects everyone is doing or has done.

About me: I'm a pastor by trade, but don't let that freak you out. Before that I was a professional videographer shooting tv commercials. Life is crazy! I love the outdoors, do Muay Thai, love banjo music and am an avid film lover.

Looking to do a project & complete it in the next year. My wife and I will be moving to Juneau, AK next summer, and instead of freighting/moving all our stuff up there, we're going to by a bus, fix it up to live in, drive it there (and float on a ferry), and then live in it temporarily until we get our feet underneath us in AK.

So I have a ton of questions to start off--not sure if this is the best place to ask--in an introduce yourself thread--or if it belongs elsewhere, but here goes:

1. I know you don't need your CDL if you get your bus classified as an RV, but I had heard from a friend that if your bus has air-brakes you might still need a CDL license regardless. True?

2. Dog-nose vs. Front-nose vs. rear-engine? Is this a preference thing or does one have a bigger pro than others? I'd imagine front nose would be easier to work on?

3. Insurance, any leads on where to start looking?

4. Any books on school bus conversion out there worth picking up?

Ok, that'll get me started

BeardedPastor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 02:27 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1984
Engine: 366 Big block Chevy! :) w/ Stick shift
Welcome ! Looking forward to seeing which bus males its way to you.
Hope to see pictures then!
Carytowncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 04:36 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeardedPastor View Post
Hi everyone!
Hello! Where in Western MD? I'm in the DC burbs.