Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-18-2021, 11:22 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Have bus will ROCK!

Hello!
My name is Leroy Miller, I'm a touring Blues/Rock musician from Montana.
I've been reading the forum for about a year and finally bought a bus and registered!
I picked up a BIG 1993 International Bluebird with a DTA360 @190HP 2700RPM and a AT545 with a 5.11 gear ratio in great shape for $3000. Its starts up and seems to run great. I am having some issues with over heating the engine and trans at speeds over 40. My speedo doesn't work but I've clocked it at 65MPH @ 3000RPM for a few miles but it will run the temp gauges up to the max!!! The bus at 2600RPM will go 55MPH but still over heat. I haven't driven much due to this.
My goal is to first deal with the heat issues then convert it into a touring bus for my band. I need to get the cruising speed as fast as possible and keep the heat in check.
I've read some post on mods for the DTA360 / AT545 combo but I'm not really sure what my best options are as far as touring around the USA with a little load (band gear) in it. I play in Texas a lot and it's 100+ down there and I need to keep the show on the road!
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Leroy
Attached Thumbnails
My Bus.jpg  

Montana Minimalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 12:01 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Coachwork: Integrated Coach Corp.
Chassis: RE-300 42ft
Engine: 466ci
Rated Cap: 90
Welcome Leroy. Not the Smash Mouth LM, from WA, right?
DeMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 02:18 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeMac View Post
Welcome Leroy. Not the Smash Mouth LM, from WA, right?
That’s me!
Old 06-19-2021, 06:44 AM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap