Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-28-2017, 07:23 AM   #1

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner
Engine: Caterpillar
Rated Cap: 87
Head first

Hello everyone!

I've been creeping on the forums here for four years and finally dove in and bought a 2001 Thomas Saf-T-Liner. After my apartment caught fire and I ended up homeless again, I bought a 20ft bell tent and set up a base camp on the James River for the purpose of building, troubleshooting and living with the systems and amenities that, when complete, will be transplanted to the bus.

I'm working with a budget of almost nothing at this point, but no bills either. I have access to tools, friends and ice cold beers, so this project should move along nicely. I intend to have it livable by the end of the summer.

I'll be seeking advice on electrical and engine stuff, mostly, as my background is in structural stuff, electronics, and computers.

It's nice to be at this point, and I look forward to the input of those with experience and wisdom.

Conley
Attached Thumbnails
image.jpeg  

Bus11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 08:13 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2003
Chassis: E-450
Engine: 7.3 Turbo
Congrats on the bus. Nothing like necessity to get a conversion going fast... Beer helps too.
Old 04-28-2017, 08:38 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Welcome! I'm looking forward to following your progress. Are you completely camping out at this point? Do you have electricity or plumbing accessible? Perhaps you should go all Doonesbury on us and name the bus Walden Puddle.
dan-fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 02:23 PM   #4