Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-12-2016, 05:45 PM   #1

Hello and troubleshooting

Hello to all in the community. I wanted to start off by asking for some help.

I was fortunate enough to be offered a 1985 international 6.9L diesel bus for free. Catch is I have to get it running. I drained oil added new. Same with fuel and the bus will heat up glow plugs when I turn ignition all I hear is a loud clunking noise. Yes the bus has been sitting for about 4 to 5 years. Any info will be greatly appreciated.

Please keep in mind I am not a mechanic by any means but have decent common sense.

jrtripp87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 06:15 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
It could be a bad ground, but if your glow plugs are working you've likely already eliminated that problem. I'm guessing you've got a good battery in it?

I'd look at the starter, basically by removing it for testing and making sure the connections are all good when it's put back in. The clunking is likely the starter bendix trying to engage the starter, but the starter isn't turning so it just clunks when it hits the flywheel. Just my guess.

It's kind of hard to say from a distance, and I'm sure there will be many opinions here within a few days.

Was it running when parked?
Robin97396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 06:21 PM   #3

The owner said that it was running when he parked it. Just that he bent a drive shaft hanger. Not sure if that's the proper term for it. But I've removed that. Will replace if I get motor started. And yes I put 2 brand new commercial batteries on this morning. I was just now able to get a wrench on the main rod behind the fan and turn it a little.

So I'm guessing the motor is not seized up. Will be looking at started but running out of daylight. Appreciate the speedy response.