Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-29-2018, 06:40 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Hello from Austin (and later Maine)

Hello all!

I have been lurking a bit but figured now that I've an account I should say hello. I am currently in the research phase, but very much looking into the conversion process for a skoolie. I've time on my side to figure out the details currently, so want to learn what I can from reading through the forums and asking questions along the way

My basic scenario: Currently live in Austin, TX but originally from New England. Been in Austin for past 5 years but starting to plan my exit from Texas (Texit). I am an Occupational Therapist, and one of the benefits to this career area is that there is a lot of contract work available out there. Many contract therapists are RV'ers, rolling around from 3 month contract to 3 month contract. Makes sense to be able to take your home with you for this type of work. I've had my eye on venturing into contract work pretty much since I started working as an OT and know a few people who have done it/currently are doing it/about to do it. For a therapist with an itch for travel, hard to beat! On top of this I've also been pretty fascinated with the tiny house concept, have helped some friends build their own as well and have kept this idea in the back of my head. So a skoolie seems like a pretty great fit overall

Borrowing from this dude's facebook page, his bus's general layout is what I have in mind (I'd want to have a "garage" area for a motorcycle/gear/tools)

https://www.facebook.com/Skoolie-Bui...1850784388238/