Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-25-2017, 11:12 PM   #1

Cool Hello from Cambridge, MA

Howdy! I've been lurking around on this forum for a while. Looks like you guys have a really nice, down-to-earth forum community here which is a pretty refreshing change from many online communities.

I'm looking to buy a larger converted bus to live in with the wife. I'd love to do it myself, as I'm fairly mechanically inclined otherwise, even if I've got limited experience with sheet metal work and any engine work more complicated than "remove bolts, replace part, replace bolts." Unfortunately I don't think that's possible given my current apartment location in Harvard Square. It's about a block from Harvard Yard where parking is not advisable despite that common saying we all know, (and about 6 blocks from the former offices of Dewey, Cheatem & Howe if you catch that reference.) A small outdoor parking space for a CAR costs about $300/mo around here, let alone some place to work on a bus.

While I've got some top-secret locations within Boston city limits where I could park a bus on the street without time restrictions, there certainly wouldn't be any power available for tools or welding, and noise would be a significant concern. And while I do have some friends out in the sticks with a bit more space, I don't have a car to get out there because around here, with street cleaning, snow restrictions, insane insurance, etc. they're an expensive pain-in-the-butt which is mostly replaced with a bus/subway pass for $80/mo total. Anyway...

I'm sure once I get it I'll end up learning how to do most of the maintenance myself. My best friend is a GC so he'll be able to help me out with any interior rejiggering that needs to be done to make it work for us, and another friend is a certified welder.