Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-26-2016, 11:22 PM   #1

Hello from Dallas, TX

I'm a new member from Dallas, TX, formerly from Oklahoma.

Just wanted to write my first post. I just purchased a 1999 Blue Bird medium size bus with a handicapped lift in the back and basically has room for 12 seats. It has 180k miles, diesel engine that seems to run great. I just got it insured as an RV and have emptied the seats. Right now I'm trying to decide whether to dive into the very long process of converting the bus into a family-RV/camper, or else resale it for a profit. I got it very cheap from a small school that had it as surplus so if I sell it I know I'll make a profit. However, I have no idea how much it is worth.

We have three small children and like to go camping so we'd make great use of an RV. I'm also a carpenter on the side of my regular job, so I think I could (with a lot of research on this website) figure out how to convert the bus. But I haven't decided yet what I want to do. I know from past experience--with other big projects--that its wise to take your time before you invest time and money on something. I'll be reading lots of forums before I make I decision. If I decide to sell the bus I'll probably see if someone wants to buy it form here.

advice more than welcome! Thanks!

bramitage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 09:50 AM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 1997
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner MVP ER
Engine: Cummins 5.9L Diesel Engine
Rated Cap: 83
Welcome! If you have the luxury of time, take it! There is lots to learn and figure out as you work on the bus. Doing it right the first time saves lots of work and cost down the road.
Being in Dallas, do you have space to do the conversion? I have heard so many stories of people starting work on the bus only to be ticketed by the city and are forced to move the bus.
Old 12-27-2016, 10:32 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1946