Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-23-2020, 10:32 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: 1308N
Engine: 5.9 24V Cummins
Rated Cap: 44 Transit
Hello from Illinois

Hello SKOOLIE.NET My name is Rick and I have been following different skoolie forums for some time now. I just purchased a bus to convert from a govt auction , but haven't actually seen it yet, hoping to get it home in early June if travel is more relaxed.
I will be looking for a lot of information on my build, so please bear with me. I am a retired union electrician and also a former over the road trucker and owner operator. We will have some special circumstances going forward, my wife suffered a massive stroke about 4 yrs ago and is confined full time to a wheel chair so our bus will need a fairly open floor plan so that she can navigate it, I will also be installing either ramp or lift because the bus I bought was not handicapped accessible. I got a 2003 Thomas FE with 5.9 cummins and an allison automatic 73,111 miles and recently inservice and inspected. Hoping to meet many of you and keep an eye out for "Suite Lorraine" once we get moving. Thanks and again Hello!

RMiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 11:41 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
sounds like a real good bus.
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 12:30 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Cat 3116
Rated Cap: 72
Hello and welcome. Retired IBEW here too, not sure where I found time to work when I look back. Enjoy your retirement and have fun with the bus life!

John
Old 04-23-2020, 03:41 PM   #4
Traveling

Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None