Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-17-2018, 06:57 AM   #1

Hello from Northern Indiana

Hello - My name is Jason and I live in far North Central Indiana (15 minutes from Notre Dame). I've recently started looking into bus conversions and my wife and I are all in on the planning stages of our own bus conversion. She is starting a nurse practitioner program next January and our plan is to hit the road traveling while she does locum tenens jobs wherever we want to go next. I'm an engineering manager and will be freelancing or just finding side work wherever I can so as to not be bored.

In all the research I've done and videos I've watched, we are most interested in a rear engine transit style bus with a raised roof. I have been looking at auctions as I can just to get ideas on conditions and prices, but we are probably a year or so away from making a purchase. I couldn't do the conversion at my house now but we own 5 acres of land so I think I'm going to get a structure built there to house the bus while converting that will also give us somewhere to come back to on occasion.

I'm pretty handy and plan to do all of the conversion myself with the exception of the charging system. I just don't have enough confidence in my electrical abilities to plan and lay out an entire power system. I understand some elements of solar and conversion and all that to know how a system operates but nowhere near enough to be comfortable doing all of the wiring and then turning the system on

Anyhow - I just thought I would introduce myself because I will definitely be at least lurking quite heavily on here for a while and probably asking a lot of questions. If anyone lives in the region and would be willing, I would love to talk with you and maybe see your conversions.

- Jason

woody350ep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2018, 07:23 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991