Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-27-2016, 08:36 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2000
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE
Engine: DT466E
Hey Hi Howdy

Heya, all! I'm a total skoolie noob, but I'm here to learn and ask (at least) a billion questions. I'll do my best to search the forums before I ask a question, and I'm looking forward to learning a lot!

I know absolutely nothing about the mechanics of busses (or any vehicle, really). I mean, I can change the oil and a flat tire and top off the fluids and change a headlight, but I have read some of the forum posts and talk of 455s and 357s and timing chains and turbos and Allisons and.....Is completely over my head.

I know a little bit about building, but not very much about that either. I built a large shed (12x14) from the ground up this summer with the help of a good friend, so I at least know some of the principles of building, but a bus is a good deal more complicated.

I'm mostly here to find out if a skoolie is a good option for me, or if getting into one is going to be way over my head.

My reasons for wanting to get into a skoolie are many, but my primary purpose is for full time living. I am a single person with two cats and a small dog, and a decent full time job. I LOVE to travel, and to be able to take my house anywhere I go would be awesome. If I do a converstion, I will also be planning on towing my '17 Suby Forester on a trailer for more flexibility. If I didn't have a house payment, it would give me a lot more freedom in what I do for money on a regular basis.

There's some stuff going on in my personal life (crazy ex husband) that makes not having a permanent address very attractive as well.

Anyway, that's some stuff about me. Looking forward to seeing what I can learn!

FuzzWantsABus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 05:59 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1990
Coachwork: BB
Chassis: TC2000