Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-25-2021, 07:17 AM   #1

Question Hi all, completely new to all this but have wanted to all my life :)

Hi all! I'm Ryan, I am 23 and really wanting to get a conversion going. I had some questions though and would really appreciate some help, Let me first preface this by saying I am completely new to all things conversion. I'm a PC type of guy and don't even know much about cars at all, let alone busses. I've been browsing and I am ready to make a decision (probably going to purchase from publicsurplus unless anyone has better suggestions) but I don't know if there is any brands I should be searching for, should avoid, certain engines to avoid/look for. I was also curious what kind of mileage I should be looking for, I see 200k a LOT on publicsurplus. I am also 6'5" if you specifically know a bus that wouldnt need to be raised for me, I've been in some city busses that I don't need to, but don't know if thats the case with schoolbusses. If you have any other tips for a noobie I'll gladly listen, just looking for advice on best busses! Thanks! (I have mainly been looking at school busses btw but will definitely take a look at any other type)

busssin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 10:35 AM   #2
Almost There

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 8.3L / MD3060R
Rated Cap: 46
6'5" !!!!!

At 6'5" you would struggle with even a high roof bus. Most of them are around 76-77" at the highest point. Maybe look at a coach.

If you plan on learn a lot of new skills then this may be quite the adventure for you. If not, plan on spending a LOT of money. (At least to do it right)
cntryby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 11:46 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77