Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-29-2020, 01:01 PM   #1

Hi All - Newbie here and looking for a little help

Hello _ I am new to Schoolie as I'm sure you can tell. If not now, you soon will be able to. I joined this Forum because after being in the restaurant business for many, many years I thought I was ready to retire. I guess I was wrong. I am bored as heck. With this Pandemic facing us it will be changing the landscape of restaurants and dining for sometime, IMHO.
Therefore, I, like many, have decided that "Food Trucks" are going to be the best option for the next year or three.
After researching my options for my current state Florida, (Pamdemic Hell) I have decided that a School Bus over a food truck would better suit my needs. I came on here to look for advice on types of engines, sizes and anything else my brain can absorb. I realize for a newcomer I am looking at a daunting task as most of you have already been through this process, however I am a former US Marine so I Accept the challenge and look forward to, Improvising, overcoming and adapting. Thanking you in advance for any and all help. And to those of you... Semper Fi.

Skooter3270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 02:01 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 2004
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner
Engine: MBE 906 Mercedes Benz Diesel
Welcome.
My suggestion is that you look at "buying a bus" search results on here, as well as doing the same search on Youtube. That will at least familarize you with the most general sizing, model types, sourcing, power train, fuel type, etc data....
From that you can begin to post questions more likely to produce useful information. Some people will be weary of "hey, I want to buy a bus, what do I do now?" type questions.. I spent about a year researching from the "I want to buy a bus" to actually buying one... it was time very well spent.

Good Luck.