Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-17-2019, 10:05 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: MVP/ER
Engine: Cat3126B 230hp
Rated Cap: 48
Lightbulb Hi everybody 🚍

I am new to the Skoolie universe as I am looking for my first School bus. Have my eye on a 2000 freightliner 28 ft with cat 7.2L turbo and Allison tranny.seems very low mileage fir age of vehicle. Dealer says diagnostics reports on 2800 hours on numbers matching engine and dash with odometer repkaced due to ??.4 hour drive to check it out. Claim to have about 42k miles on it. Dies this sound too good to be true for under 5k$??any input would be awesome. Michael Troitino

Mat7783 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 12:17 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mat7783 View Post
I am new to the Skoolie universe as I am looking for my first School bus. Have my eye on a 2000 freightliner 28 ft with cat 7.2L turbo and Allison tranny.seems very low mileage fir age of vehicle. Dealer says diagnostics reports on 2800 hours on numbers matching engine and dash with odometer repkaced due to ??.4 hour drive to check it out. Claim to have about 42k miles on it. Dies this sound too good to be true for under 5k$??any input would be awesome. Michael Troitino
I think speedos were the most prone piece of equipment to fail early on and are replaced with used or new ones without a mileage correction. Most school buses see 10k miles a year. So a 2000, would normally have in the ballpark of 190K. Could it have less, sure. 46K, I'd need to check the computer and see if it's stored, or a provable story to back the low mileage claim. To me that would be a $2500 bus. Worth more with 46K, yes. Worth double, not to me.
Old 12-18-2019, 06:20 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1996
Chassis: International
Engine: T444E 7.3L