Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-02-2017, 03:16 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Hi from NC

Hi everyone. I'm new to the skoolie realm and am looking to learn more about what is the best model to get, etc. If we get a skoolie, it would be used to haul gear + family of 4 around to events for selling items and us "camping" in during these events. My thinking is that this would be the best way to meet our goals of 1. people space 2. cargo space 3. sleep space. Without breaking the bank. Currently, we use our SUV to pull a 17' camper around and quarters are tight and I worry about long term stress on our Jeep. We'd be looking at 6-8 trips a year with anywhere from 400 to 2,000 miles per trip. Dependability is most important. I'm not afraid of a project and can handle any conversion (wood, electrical, plumbing, mechanical, welding) work that is needed myself.

I'm in NC and am not versed with our state's CDL vs. no-CDL laws yet, so that may sway my decision some (when I find out)?

Also, there are so many models it seems, which is the best for long life, cheap parts, easy fixes, etc.? Any models or engine/trans combos to run from?

Edited to add: Where do you all get buses from? Craigslist? Auctions?

Thanks!

lurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 03:37 PM   #2
Skoolie

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurk View Post
I'm in NC and am not versed with our state's CDL vs. no-CDL laws yet, so that may sway my decision some (when I find out)?
Check your state's regulations, but for the most part, it's the purpose of a vehicle and not its type that determines what license you need for it. A person could go out and buy an 18 wheel tractor trailer rig and drive it without a CDL as long as it was for private use. If its just you and your family going places, and you aren't hiring it out to haul people/cargo, then odds are you won't need a CDL.

Quote: