Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-12-2020, 10:48 AM   #1

HI! I am a newbie, looking for input

Hi!
Brand new, have been researching for about a year. I am getting close to purchasing, looking for about 35 feet. My questions are:
Good engines to look for
Good bus make/ model
I will be looking for something in th $3000 range so I am just searching for something as reliable as possible.
Any feedback is appreciated.
I think I read some negative remarks about a Ford 7.3l oneness.
Thanks in advance.

LISAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 11:46 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
3000 range

Engine choice is like your favorite flavor of food...... it is a personal opinion in most cases.

example.... international DT series engines dt360 dt 408 dt466 dt530 these are turbocharged, mechanical injection engines that have "sleeves". This means, to a point, the engine can be rebuilt in the bus.... or in situ. slightly cheaper for rebuild. I kinda like these engines. parts are around, they tolerate dirt better than a newer Electronic injection engine.. a DT466E for example is a newer engine with a computer driven injection system.

A DT360 and a cummins 5.9 on paper are a nearly identical engine from an engineering standpoint. With one major exception. Then engine block on the cummins is all piece and you cannot over haul the pistons/cylinders- which are called pistons/sleeves in the dt360. So a mechanical injection cummins has to come out of the bus to rebuilt. inline 6 a smooth running engine

a cummins 8.3 DT530 are the most similar to each other. both are about the same size 8 liters or 500 cubic inches inline 6 smooth running engine

a caterpillar 3116 and DT466 are most similar about 7.3 liters or 450 cubic inches inline 6 smooth running engine.