Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-19-2019, 08:58 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird International
Chassis: 3800
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 35
I think I found my bus!!!

I found a bus just like I have been for. I am going to look at it on Saturday. It is a 1997 bluebird with a t444e, 6 window with 213k miles. They say it runs well but might need glow plugs. There is a little rust on the bottom of the door an d a bit on the back next to the back door. New retreads also. It is a bit more than I was planning on spending but not much.

Are glow plugs easy to change? I am thinking they are like replacing spark plugs am I correct? I am new to the diesel engine stuff.

D
How do I check the gearing and determine the transmission type?

Michael

Gorzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 10:37 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Hopefully the retreads are only on the rear.Illegal to run them up front. Keep in mind hidden rust will be much more than what's exposed. Where is the bus located?
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 10:47 AM   #3
Skoolie

It is in mid Illinois. It is a white church bus the said was maintained regularly so it is not yellow.
I am looking a ways to get it home legally. I am getting quotes from trucking companies I hope today. It is less than 80 miles away from my house so I am hoping it will be cheaper than the commercial as private that was about $350 for a year. Plus I don't have a CDL to legally drive the 35 passenger bus.

I would hope they did no put retreads on the front.

As for the rust I am not too worried. That's what angle grinders and welders are for ;)

Michael
Old 04-19-2019, 11:27 AM   #4
Bus Crazy

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Thomas
Engine: T444E 7.3L