Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-16-2020, 01:07 AM   #1
Bus Crazy

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC2000, 40' MPV
Engine: 5.9 Cummins/B300 trans
Rated Cap: U/K
I took the plunge

Hi all
My name's Rick and I believe I may be the new owner of a book mobile. I've done considerable reading both here an on other sites. I'm 66 and hoping to retire soon. I'm a commercial electrician (contractor) with a background in motor homes and some commercial solar arrays.
This bus is 1999 Blue Bird, is registered as an MPV in California, has 54007 original miles, a 5.9 L6 and a 3000 series tyranny (push button). The rear end is 5.38, I believe, and it comes with a low hour 15kW, Kohler, diesel generator.i signed up on the Cummins site for diagrams and specs and printed out a wiring diagram from Blue Bird.

https://www.govdeals.com/index.cfm?fa=Main.Item&itemid=579&acctid=5947

It needs a rinse both inside and out, 2 new batteries and a good going over as it's been parked for a while. It's 4 hours from my house. That's it for now, just checking in
Rick

Rwnielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 04:33 AM   #2
Traveling

Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
Congrats, and welcome to the community. Sounds like you got a pretty nice foundation on which to build. The 5.9 Cummins is usually a solid package, I believe a '99 would be a 12-valve, which is slightly less power but avoids the injection issues common to the 24-valve. Power isn't much of a consideration though, even with the better transmissions, as these things weren't built to be in a hurry.