Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-31-2017, 04:01 PM   #1

Smile Intro/ Where to Buy?!

Good afternoon fellow nomads and bus enthusiasts,

I've been taking about getting a bus since I was in high school! Now I am a recent college graduate and working in my field as a Cinematographer. I plan on traveling across America to various "film" cities and freelancing while I'm there. About a month ago, a few friends offered to go 4 ways on a small apartment in NYC. This is when it really hit me. We would each be spending over $1,500 a month for only one room to call our own. I simply couldn't see myself throwing that much money down the drain each month to live like a sardine.

As of right now I am looking for flat nose, diesel engine, full size, air brake bus to buy. Where does everyone buy their buses from? Are there any government auctions or state auctions that people use? Does anyone know someone who is selling something similar to what I am describing?

I'm also going to be creating a YouTube channel for my bus project when I finally pull the trigger on one. I'll have another post about that once the channel is live.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post! I can't wait to make this dream a reality!

HonJazzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 04:08 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Welcome.
Keep an eye on the auctions. I've gotten a few good deals on Public Surplus and GovDeals.
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 04:14 PM   #3

Thank you for the reply! I'll be keeping my eyes peeled.
Old 01-31-2017, 08:45 PM   #4
Bus Crazy

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: Bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins 24v
Rated Cap: 72 pax
Quote:
Originally Posted by HonJazzz View Post