Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-06-2022, 11:10 AM   #1

Just poking around, dreaming of the life…

Hello from Charlotte, NC!

I’m just getting started researching skoolies and other conversions to see if it is doable for me. I’m so intrigued by the nomadic life, and my cat doesn’t care where he is as long as he has food and a lap to sleep on. No worries there…

One HUGE problem is that I am a paraplegic and in a wheelchair. Not only am I unable to do the work myself, but I also need extra consideration in the design with more “bells and whistles” than the average user.

I am certainly aware the process will take a LONG time, and I think I have enough patience. It’s the matter of cost. It may end up that I am better off buying a used RV already adapted. We’ll see.

All that said, I’m happy to have found a forum where I can search for answers to my many question, and rely on the advice of those who have already “gone rogue”.

Thanks, Chiki Toka

Chiki Toka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 12:55 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2005
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: FS65
Engine: Mercedes 6.4L
Rated Cap: just the 2 of us
welcome to this forum...a community of creative, helpful people who just happen to have missed the last bus to the loony bin.
I think there is at least 1 person on this forum who is also wheel chair bound...so hopefully he will chime in.
And perhaps while converting a bus, you will discover that you can do things that you previously assumed you could not.
Best of luck and now get busy and figure out what type of bus will best fit your needs.
Then be patient as you shop so you don't end up with a rusted heap.
BarnYardCamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 02:03 PM   #3
Skoolie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiki Toka View Post
Hello from Charlotte, NC!