Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-04-2022, 11:38 AM   #1

Looking for Guidance

Hello Everyone!

I’m brand new to the Skoolie community and currently hunting the auction sites for a bus of my own but I could really use some friendly advice and am really hoping to find a few friendly faces with the experience to help guide me through this whole adventure.

A little bit about me:
Due to a previously undiagnosed, long term chronic condition, I unexpectedly found myself permanently disabled at 35. I’m now two years down the road (and 2 years into my SSD application) and even once all the paperwork clears I need to figure out a way to live on what could essentially be as little as $1,100/month. I have struggled and lived paycheck to paycheck my whole life and I consider myself to be an expert at living on little to nothing but even I can't see any way to sustain a life on so little.

After giving it a LOT of thought & research (not much else to do these days) and trying to be extremely realistic in what my limitations and needs are due to my disability, I really think building a Skoolie is the way to go. In fact it's the only way I could ever see myself breaking even financially, let alone maybe one day have the potential to start saving money again.

That being said, I am obviously extremely limited on my budget. I would need to plan the build out in stages and tackle it bits at a time for financial reasons. And while I still may have the heart of a DIYer, due to my disability, I will have to hire & recruit for any and all work I need done which I understand will most likely cause its own unique challenges and costs.