Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-27-2018, 04:49 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2002
Coachwork: International
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 72
Mobile Kitchen, tacos anyone?

Hello everyone,

I am new to this site but I have been seeing some posts when googling info on buses. I hope that I am posting in the right place, I am not technologically proficient, but I am working on that!

I retired from bus driving a while ago, 2004 to be exact, and since then I have returned to my passion... Cooking! I am now a cook/food trailer owner but in the interest of being more mobile I have decided to purchase a bus to do just that. This brings me here.

While I was a driver, I was just that, a driver. My mechanical abilities are limited however I can change oil and simple things like that, but the basic understanding of what a motor is and what it can do escapes me. This is what has brought me here to this place where I have been reading a plethora of information from talented people full of much knowledge.

I am heading to the south to find the vessel which will ultimately get me through the next phase in my l life, semi retirement! Do any of us really retire? I think I might just die from boredom, so here is how I plan to do it...

My ideal bus (dreaming big here folks) is a clean, 11-12 row, seats already removed, conventional diesel with air brakes. A flat floor, 74-77" height, with a lift and belly box(s), reasonable miles, with many miles still on the tires (I do need to get it back home), no rust and already painted white. Oh yeah, and great fuel mileage! Now, will I get all of these features on a very low $5,000 budget? Probably not, but I will remain optimistic.

I have driven Internationals mostly and I like them. I also have a mechanic who will service my bus, thankfully.