Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-04-2018, 05:48 PM   #1

Need Advice: Sell or Rehab

Hi,
I'm new to the network. My mom had a 1959 GMC 4104 Trailways conversion that she full timed in for about three years before she got sick. It has been parked in a field in N Idaho and used basically as a storage for the past 10 years. Mom passed away 1 1/2 years ago and I have inherited the bus. I live in Phoenix. I have been kicking around the idea for a while of full time RV'ing in the next 5-7 years. Was going to get a 5th wheel with truck. But started thinking recently that will cost $50K PLUS even if I bought used. So now have switch gears of just rehabbing the bus I already own. It would have to be completely gone thru mechanically before able to drive it even. Then I would probably gut the inside and start new with the floorplan I want. After sitting so long, who knows what critters have been living in it!
Anyway, I'm not real sure which way to go with this. I know it is a more rare bus and I could just sell it. I am looking for opinions if you could help me out with ideas and or your insights on this matter. Much appreciated.

univ369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 06:14 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
It will be way more valuable to you in the end if you build it, than if you sold it. The bus will help keep your Mom close.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 06:17 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
start with ......

the budget..... what do you have to work with?

then do you have time to go back and forth from arizona to idaho?
magnakansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 06:23 PM   #4