Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-26-2022, 08:37 AM   #1

New Bus Owner - Ready to Build

Hi everyone,

I am an art teacher in Atlanta, GA. I recently purchased a tiny 1998 GMC Savana 3500 Shuttle Bus from my school
(The school bought new buses. So myself & the Janitor snatched up the old ones immediately)

I will not be converting the bus into a space for living, but rather into a mobile classroom and art studio so I can travel & teach art wherever I want and wherever I need. So it wont be a very fancy space, but nice enough and safe for students and myself to work in

I have no experience with building or carpentry, but I am excited to work and learn. What resources would you recommend to a very novice builder? Any books/ videos/ anecdotes/ advice you have to share would be greatly appreciated. Specifically looking at flooring at the moment.

Stumbles Sr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2022, 09:58 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1990
Chassis: Crown Supercoach
Engine: Detroit 6-71TA, 10 sp.
Rated Cap: 90 (40')
Welcome! Sounds like a fun project. You've found the right place to ask for advice - there have been others here who made art studio buses, though I can't remember their user names off the top of my head. I'd recommend getting acquainted with the search function. Some of the options under "advanced" can be pretty useful.

Another recommendation - don't get too enthusiastic with demolition. Taking the seats out is pretty straightforward, but if you have an itch to start cutting wires, stop and think VERY carefully before doing so. "I cut wires and my bus won't start" is the #1 most common thread theme here

Lots of good flooring options, but I'd consider roll vinyl or rubber "coin" pattern garage flooring for your application.

Good luck and have fun!
Tejon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2022, 11:53 AM   #3

Thank you Tejon7!