Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-12-2021, 02:43 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

New guy

Hello, All. New guy (Rob), here. I'm an Army Nurse creeping closer to military retirement. My fiance (Melanie) and I are wanting to have a skoolie completed before that day comes. For the last 5+ years, I've known I want the next chapter in my life to be off the beaten path. Considered sailing the world, and as much as that spoke to my soul, I realized I don't want to be inaccessible to my kids. When Melanie walked into my life, she took what I thought were my day dreams, and made me see they could be real. For the last year, the thought of a skoolie has moved to the forefront in our minds, to the point that we're ready to start taking the next steps. I have no idea how much time a conversion will take, but I figured giving ourselves the next few years - planning to retire in 2024 - seems realistic. We are here to learn as much as we can before we pick and purchase a bus, then continue learning as much as we can while we make this happen. I'm beyond positive we are naive about what we're getting ourselves into, in my experience though, recognizing that and being willing to listen to what others are willing to share can get you pretty far.

4bluewaters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 02:49 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 86
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford B700
Engine: 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies
welcome.
where are you stationed?
any ideas on type and or size of bus?
ask questions and read through the threads before you make the leap and you will be way ahead of the game
Jolly Roger bus 223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 03:02 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie