Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-01-2019, 03:08 PM   #1

New Guy in S. Florida

Hello folks. I've been lurking on this site a while and am getting closer to biting the bullet and getting a bus. I've been doing a lot of research and half the time I'm encouraged and excited to get started and the other half I feel like this is going to be an enormous task. I'm not crafty nor handy. It seems like most of the skoolies talked about here are done by people who know a lot about building things. I'm a disabled vet and have a terrible back so some tasks can be a little cumbersome for me. I can walk and stuff but being on the floor or on my feet for long periods can be painful. I would love to find a conversion company that does the major stuff so I can do the cosmetics and details or be instructed on how to do things. My ultimate intent is to full time it for a couple of years going around painting landscapes and doing photography while reconnecting with old friends. I know that is a huge leap but I do have the capacity for learning stuff having been an Air Force Pilot. Honestly I oscillate between getting a Super Class C (because I believe they are safer than Class A's) and adding solar and a compost toilet or having a customized bus capable of boondocking for a respectable amount of time. My companion for this adventure is my 95 pound dog Kenni. So I also will be doing this solo plus dog and using my Jeep as my toad. I would love to hear from people especially if they've full timed solo. I would appreciate some advice but prefer not to hear from those who think I shouldn't do it. Even if a task seems impossible there may be a way to make it happen. I was going to start this a year ago but listened to people who could not imagine living on the road. I've waited long enough and have a bucket list and a few promises to take care of. So any advice for a new guy?