Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2020, 03:39 AM   #1

New guy looking for skoolie to help move out of Alaska.

Hello all,

I am a new member to the site, and am excited to learn about the world of buses and skoolies. My wife and I are looking to purchase a 2002 Thomas saf-t-liner ER that has already been converted for life in Alaska. We are hoping to move back to the lower 48, and utilize a bus this bus to move our selves, pets, and some house hold items.

First off I am quickly realizing that there is quite the learning curve to owning an operating a skoolie. I consider myself fairly motivated DIYer, but buses are a whole new world. My wife and I will be skoolie owners at some point. Wether we purchase one for the move, or find one in the lower 48 after the move later this summer.

My first question is can we do this safely? I have no experience with driving large vehicles. Drove a moderate sized class C motorhome for a weekend, and have multiple years driving an ambulance. That is pretty much the only driving experience I can speak to. How hard is it to learn how to drive a bus, more specifically can I learn how to drive in canyon conditions? Especially the Alcan highway that runs from Anchorage to the lower 48. With the added danger of canyons, inexperience, and remoteness that is Interior Alaska and Northern Canada. Will this be a learning curve too steep to navigate safely?

Second question is how much weight can be loaded into a bus for it to safely operate? We are not taking much back south with us, but there are certain things that if possible we would like to bring with us. I don't want to load a 2 bedroom house full of stuff into a bus if I can help it, but would like an idea of what is a safe amount of weight I can load into a bus? I know this may be a little bit of a broad question but I really have not idea what to expect.