Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-14-2020, 06:06 PM   #1

Question New Guy On The Block

My wife and I are late fifty to early sixties and are ready to buy a bus which will become our home, at least until we can find land we can afford and complete a shed to house project as a base of operations. We have been dreaming and drooling over skoolies for about 5 years now becasue it suits our "Always on the Move life style. Our current plans are to travel the states helping homesteaders with projects that are overwhelming them or beyond their current skill set. I have a background in mechanical work as well as a strong background in construction and have built homes from the footers to the chimney cap. Needless to say the bus build doesn't intimidate me, although I will need to get educated more on on solar. I am currently a pastor in a rural church which like most in my camp means very little funds to work with, so we are looking to get the basics in so we can title it as an RV an move in as soon as possible. At a later date we will add creature comforts to make it a home. I will likely use shore power and generator to start but want to have it wire ready for solar when I can afford it. Over the past few weeks I've been combing the used bus ads but I tend to get lost in the details, which is where I could use some help. I am wondering if someone could tell me if there is a particualr Make & Model Bus that would fit the following criteria, or for that matter, if they even make it or something similar to it.

Here is what I am looking for:
1) flat nose pusher
2) DT 466 engine or similar with Allision Auto/Trans ( input on tranny in a pusher would help as well)
3) Lenght: Min 28'/Max 35' prefer a 30'
4) Cargo space underneath that goes all the way through.
5) 78"ish ceiling height.
Any input on this would be greatly appreciated.

PDBrandon is offline   Reply With Quote