Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-17-2018, 03:34 PM   #1

New guy with questions

I am new to the skoolie.net and I am considering joining the skoolie asylum!

My wife and I are considering purchasing an alternate to what we have, dodge cummins 2500 with camper. Considering an alternate since we recently went over to the coast with the camper and my 5000# boat and the truck and camper had plenty of power but the camper causes a fair amount of sway even though I have had a rear sway bar installed, also the layout of the camper just sucks mainly because the amount of space that is available.

I have noticed a fair amount of school buses on craigslist and I am interested in the idea of a bus as an rv.
With that I have come up with some questions that I thought could be answered here?

What motor/trans would be preferred considering my needs? Cat, cummins??
Can the 40' buses be shortened, if so how difficult is it?
I noticed some discussion about governors, which motors are the easiest to deal with with that issue?

Thank you for any responses

Gary

gfrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 09:37 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
Boils down to this

time and money

Yes you can shorten a bus, they are kind of built in a modular fashion, shorten by one roof panel, two panels, etc.... now if you you are looking to shorten in the middle of a roof panel... more work. Can be done, but more effort.

Do you have shop space? Do you have time? Do you have ability? Dont have those? Do you have money to someone else to do it for you?

Buses are generally meant for city streets, 45mph 50 mph and lower speeds. The engines and transmissions are set up for low cost and make the numbers.