Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-15-2021, 08:35 PM   #1

Question New member with 0 experience! any advice will do :)

Hello!

Long story short, I am a broke college student. My dad had bought an 89 Bluebird bus that had already been converted to live in (has water, generator, etc.) a few years back and it has just been SITTING there, used as storage from when we moved.

I currently live with them as I am unable to move out on my own due to being in school and not getting enough hours at work.

I was thinking about fixing this bus up (with my money, and his mechanical knowledge) and possibly using it to live in and split the bills of potentially living in a park with my boyfriend.

I really have no idea what the condition is, or if it will even run properly (we are having to charge the battery now, but my dad is confident that it will run... I'm not entirely sure though. But he probably knows more than I do.)

I know it needs a completely new set of tires, but I don't even know what the price for that would be or WHERE to even look for those. I am completely new to bus life, aside from seeing a couple videos converting them in the past.

So if anyone has ANY advice for me AT ALL or if y'all could let me know the average cost of living and repairs are for this type of bus, that would be great.

ratpuns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 08:43 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Welcome to the madness. Where are you located? Go to the UserCP above and fill out your profile with location and bus info when you know more about it. Make sure you go through the basics to making it roadworthy. Everything you want to know is contained on this website.
Old 09-15-2021, 08:52 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1974
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: "Atomic"
Engine: DD 8V71