Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2018, 01:16 PM   #1

Year: 2003
Chassis: Blue Bird Flat-Nose
Engine: Cummins 5.9L Allison 2500
Rated Cap: 76 passenger 40 foot
New member with Bus need advice!

Hey Guys!

My wife and I just bought a 2003 Bluebird Flat-nose 40 foot. excellent condition. we got it from a school. super pumped. We now want to turn it into a skoolie! I am a researcher from Upenn in Physics and my wife has a degree in creative writing. We are both travelers and are the more adventurous type, for example, our honeymoon was a 40 day backpacking trip in Europe (her idea).

We need some help and advice.
First, should we raise the roof? I am 6'1. If so, what is the best way to do it. (safest, most cost effective, etc). Iv seen a couple of ideas like cutting the pillars and should we replace the old windows to get more energy efficient ones? Is it possible to lower the floor? I think we can use the extra height. Does the roof raise affect safety?

We finished a floor plan! looking to go solar with energy efficient appliances (like chest freezer fridge, convection induction etc) No TV for us! just books!

We would love to connect with some other new members and other members who could maybe help and offer advise for us.

Also is there a bus junk yard near Birmingham Alabama?

Thanks! and please contact me!

Stephen and Anna
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1778.jpg   IMG_1777.jpg  

Sjroussel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 01:43 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77