Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-08-2019, 01:21 PM   #1

New party bus biz starting up

Hi I'm Jake and I'm from WI. I've been around school buses in one way or another for over 10 years. I was a driver for a large company for about 5 years, but as a young single guy it just wasn't paying the bills so I had to give it up. I took my CDL training from the bus company and got a job driving a concrete mixer for a great company with good pay and full bennies!

About 5 years ago, I took a part time job driving a party bus on weekends and found that I really enjoy it! It was a small company with 2 converted 1996 Blue Bird TC2000's with the 5.9 Cummins that ironically came from the same company I drove school bus for. They were painted white, rearranged the seats, carpeted, colored lights, phone chargers, and a booming sound system. Our clients really loved it because it's more affordable than a limo and could hold more people. Unfortunately due to an insurance snafu and other uncontrollable circumstances, we had to go out of business. It's messy and complicated so I won't get into it. I want to keep doing it, so after some careful thinking, I decided to start my own party bus company!

I've been searching for a few weeks for a bus. The owner of the previous party bus offered to sell it to me. But in my experience from driving it, I don't have much faith it will last long. It's old, underpowered, leaks too much oil, and a bunch of other small things. I'm trying to start fresh. And I kind of have an affinity for a conventional bus from back when I drove school bus. So I've been looking for an International Blue Bird as I know from experience they are solid vehicles. I'm not saying other styles are bad, but that combo is my preference.