Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-04-2019, 01:51 PM   #1

New shorty owner!

Hi all,

I'm about to buy a 2000 Chevy 2500 propane bus, so figured I'd sign up here!

I'm buying it direct from a reputable school bus company that was retiring their fleet, so it's been well maintained and inspected every 60 days for its entire life.

I pick it up on Monday. I've got plans for the longer-term build, but in the meantime, I need to put in a quick-and-easy plan in order to insure it as a camper (and use it for some short trips in the coming month or two).

Does anyone know if there are some older discussion threads here, discussing that topic (tips for a quick and dirty, but temporary, conversion)? I'm brand new to the forum, so I'm still learning my way around, and how to search old topics.

Thanks!

-Simon-
Attached Thumbnails
00v0v_d9Y5rm5NcXZ_1200x900.jpg  

Nomis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 02:10 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Go to the UserCP in the upper left here and fill out your profile, it'll help us answer your questions better.
You will need some variation of 4 of the following 6 requirements.

Cooking appliance with onboard fuel source
Gas or electric fridge
Toilet with exterior evac
Heat/AC with power other than engine
Potable (drinkable) water supply
110v power supply
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 03:05 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Thomas 4 window w/lift
Chassis: G30~Chevy cutaway
Engine: 5.7/350 Chevy Vortec
Rated Cap: Just me and my "stuff"?
Not sure I'd want a LP powered bus. Unless I wasn't planning on any long road tripping in it.
What happens when an unexpected out of fuel situation happens, as gas gages on LP are notorious for their inaccuracy? Can't just go get a 5 gallon can of fuel to get to the nearest gas station.