Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-06-2021, 12:31 PM   #1

New to the forum, but wanting to give things a try...

Hello all! Allow me to make an overly-long introduction.

I've been watching videos on Skoolie conversions for some time now and I've found it fascinating... to the point now where I think I want to work toward buying one.

So here's my situation.

I'm a college administrator who is basically starting over after a divorce. I live in the DFW area and while I love it here, the cost of living is a bit much once you factor in child support. (Not a complaint, just the reality of the situation).

Add to that the housing market is insane and well... it's tough to get ahead. I know that goes in cycles.

As it stands, I am getting by. I pay my bills and live pretty modestly but short of a career change I'm likely not going to get ahead unless I change the dynamic somehow...

Anyway, in addition to my job I also do some doordash driving on the side. It provides the occasional beer money and has paid for some small adventures... float/camping trips, small vacations with the kids... things like that.

What I've decided to do is do a little bit of extra doordashing and start socking that money away for the initial purchase of a bus. I figure the time it takes me to save up the money I need will give me some more time to do some due diligence on exactly what I *want* and what I *need* when the time comes to take the plunge.

As I've done some preliminary research, here are some things I *want*...

Probably a full-size bus. I want enough to be able to fit a bed (queen or larger) along with some built-in bunk beds for my kids when they're with me on an adventure and still have some living space. I feel like a rear-engine flat nose bus with storage bays would be ideal... but is that something that's going to significantly increase my initial cost?