Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-08-2020, 03:56 PM   #1

New to the Skoolie life

Greetings from the great Corn State!

A bit about me; I'm a welder and machinist by trade, blacksmith by hobby. I am a massive traction engine enthusiast, which is why I got into the trades I did, because my dream is to build a miniature engine. My husband and I have a dog and 2 cats.

Something my husband and I do every year is volunteer at WMSTR, one of the largest steam threshing shows in the US. I work on a steam shovel as a boiler operator and my husband works in the foundry. In years past, we usually tent it. However, last year, our 10 man tent was destroyed in a storm at the end of the show. We had our dog with us (a gas/lab), so the tent size was perfect for her kennel to be in there so she can sleep with us out of the elements. But with the tent destroyed, we have had enough. Other volunteers have buses for their campers and that is the route we want to take.

My husband ideally wants a full size International, because tractors. We want to cut the back half of the bus off and create a trailer to also be able to haul our small pickup, and later on tractors to other threshing shows. Having a bus would also be better for my husband's neck, who is 6'5". Plus we could bring all our pets with. We don't have a bus yet, but have watching local auctions as they go pretty cheap.

We have been doing a lot of research into figuring out how we can build proper ramps for such a high frame and keep them secure. Dismantling the bus we have all figured out, as well as doing the reriveting of the rear end. Reinforcing the deck is also something we need help with. We haven't seen many who have turned their buses into half trailers. So, when I found this place, I thought I'd join to learn!

BlacksmithBrony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 11:04 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999