Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-07-2016, 03:19 AM   #1

Year: 1998
Coachwork: thomas
Rated Cap: 71 passenger
New to the skoolie world

hey my name is joe i am a disabled army vet and out of necessity
we (my family) bought a 98 thomas built 71 pass. flat nose schoolbus that i am attempting to do for as cheap as humanly possible if any one has any cost saving ideas or knowledge of what to pull out of a rv for electric wise im open to advice

TatDaddyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 05:27 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1996
Chassis: thomas
Engine: 8.3 cummins
Rated Cap: 11 window
thank you for your service brother. most will use stove/oven,water tanks,pump, vent hood, antenna,sink, toliet, and power cabe/inverter/charger, ac. its up to you. lots of builds to look at on here. good luck and good reading.
superdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 02:10 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1984
Engine: 366 Big block Chevy! :) w/ Stick shift
Welcome Joe, thank you for your service.

My best savings come from me waiting for things to come my way. When i bypass that to have it sooner i always pay much more.

Now sometimes i spoil myself in the tool or parts department and buy the good stuff. I never regret buying myself good tools, tires, or machine parts.

And last but not least i dumpster dive. I bet my bus is adorned with 95 percent dumpster and alley find

Good luck, sounds fun!
Carytowncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 08:16 PM   #4

Year: 1992
Engine: Chevy 6.2 diesel
Just starting

We found so many things at auctions. We got our cabinets
Counter tops, sink, faucet, and plywood this way. We found a lot of items we
Could make our selves. We also barter a lot.
We found out biggest expenses are going to be
The solar, batteries, the cushions. I bartered to have welding done to add to the back rack and battery compartment and back window fixed.