Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-23-2016, 11:06 PM   #1

New, young, and inexperienced!

Hello Skoolie Crowd!

I'm a 20-something from the midwest who has been lurking all over the forum for a while now. I figured I should probably get around to introducing myself!

I suspect you run into my type every once in a while. I've got no bus, and I've got NO (legitimate) experience working with metal (and only a bit with wood), but I'm hoping to change all of that. I run an expeditionary learning program in Michigan taking kids out backpacking, boating, and the like and after running for a few years out of a space smaller than a bus, I came to the conclusion that the best way to run an accessible, low-cost outdoor program would be to turn the rear half of a bus into the actual gear warehouse and facility and simply run the program from the road.

A few budgets, idea testing, late night conversation and months (really years) later, I'm thinking of getting started within the next year by forming a non-profit (my current organization is for profit) and getting a bus. This site has been an invaluable resource in planning out what this could look like and determining the logistical feasibility - on behalf of what I imagine are many lurkers out there, much gratitude to those of you who post frequently with the trials and tribulations of bus ownership!

Any thoughts and ideas are welcome right off the bat - I've found great stuff on roof racks here, and other forms of creative storage (or bus types) are welcome. I'm thinking we would want want a Type C 12-row/48 passenger. It seems like an RE is preferable for drivers, safety, but not sure how this effects cargo/gear/rear access, and the FE certainly has a better "feel" - any thoughts on that from the peanut gallery?