Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-20-2021, 03:13 PM   #1

Newbie Here! :)

Hey all!

Super new to this, and by new I mean NEW haha

I've been reading for days and there is TONS of information, sometimes it can even be a bit overwhelming.

First things first, type of bus and what would work.

There seems to be a general consensus on engine and tranny types and it seems that what the bus/shuttle was originally used for could determine its "life span".

I should probably start with this:

I still work full-time and don't plan on quitting work or retiring early lol, therefore, a full size bus is NOT my plan right now.

I'm interested in a mini bus or shuttle as it will be used primarily for taking trips up to VT for a few days at a time for snowboarding but I would like it to also be able to withstand a couple cross country trips a year to board Colorado/Utah. (I'm in the Northeast)

I promise I will read as much as possible to not annoy or waste anyone's time before I ask questions but here are some of the following:

What type of mini I should be looking at that can withstand weekend trips as well as a couple cross country trips a year.

Undercarriage clearance seems to be a concern as I would LIKE to have water tanks to be able to actually live in it for a weekend/week or so. I would presume undercarriage space is possible even on a mini but it seems as though I would need to go the mini bus route rather than a shuttle as the shuttles do seem much lower to the ground?

Also, in terms of the type of bus; it seems that people don't like school buses due to the extended idling rather than consistent routes (if I'm reading the info correctly) but 5/6 window school buses do seem to be all I'm really finding in he mini bus category.