Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-16-2021, 01:14 AM   #1

Newbie Here Drive train questions

Hey folks! It's been a blast perusing this forum for ideas and tips as my wife and I are preparing to pull the trigger on a full size conversion.

I am a GC/carpenter/fine woodworker so I'm feeling good about the conversion itself, but the actual bus acquisition has me scratching my head. There seem to be so many options and I feel I'm getting caught up in a cycle of opinions.

Does anyone have a good baseline to help me parse it out? I feel like cummins 5.9 has a good history here, but then the dt466 keeps popping up. Also a fair amount of the buses I think I'm interested in will say "Allison transmission". Does that mean something to anyone here based on the year of the bus and engine type?

I'm located in the northwest, and it looks like Franklin Pierce (a local school district) is shedding some inventory via auction and they have records of a consistent 2,000mi 6month maintenance plan for all their buses.

This looks good to me? But also they are MVP-ERs or MVP-EFs. Which seem to be a "lighter duty" bus? Is this a bad idea for a conversion bus? Again the internet is full of opinions so I was hoping to gain some clarity through you fine folks about some of this. We plan to lift the roof 10-12 inches as I'm 6'5" if that matters?

Anyway,
Thank you in advance!

Busfamilytime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 06:13 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 65C-43A