Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Closed Thread

Old 04-27-2022, 08:06 AM   #1

Exclamation Newbie Seeking Mutual Aid

Hello Skoolie Community!

My name is Mandee and I'm just beginning my Skoolie journey! As I am in the early stages of this project (just found land and am hoping to purchase a bus), I'm seeking to raise more donations/awareness.

Would y'all be willing to help me out and donate to/boost my GoFundMe for this build? Also, if you're in NC and are able to lend construction support and/or knowledge, please reach out to me!

Old 04-27-2022, 09:53 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Coachwork: El Dorado Fiberglass
Chassis: Ford E450
Engine: V10 Gas
I thought the idea of mutual aid was everyone contributed when something went wrong.
Old 04-27-2022, 10:08 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1990
Chassis: Crown Supercoach
Engine: Detroit 6-71TA, 10 sp.
Rated Cap: 90 (40')
Others have asked for donations and tend to catch flack for it. It sure doesn't hurt to ask, but be prepared for some negative responses. This community is rich with information and the occasional helping hand, but spare money that burns holes in our pockets? Not so much.

Do you own this land that you found? Many people here have a hard time finding a place to park/work on their buses. If you can host other buses on your land, you may have good luck trading a parking/working spot for help with your build.
Old 04-27-2022, 10:31 AM   #4

@Rucker That's fair and that's definitely something we've witnessed since the pandemic, however, mutual aid is not limited to times of crisis. I could give a longwinded response about how our current economic system is itself a crisis and has systematically disenfranchised and extracted from marginalized communities, but I think most of us in this community have some understanding of that.