Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2021, 04:57 PM   #1

Newbie seeking wisdom

Hey ya値l! Newbie here coming from the great PNW! I have a 1987 E350 super duty short bus! So excited for the adventures and challenges to come! Our bus sits relatively low, and I知 assuming when I start building it out completely will add more weight. I知 curious as to how and if you went to a shop/how to find them for lift kits! I just would like a tiny bit more clearance, nothing crazy! Thanks!!

Campfiremafia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 05:36 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Coachwork: El Dorado Fiberglass
Chassis: Ford E450
Engine: V10 Gas
My shuttle bus has high clearance except for the door, which is purposefully a step above ground. What is your current clearance?
Rucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 05:41 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Our hot little grubbies...
Chassis: Ford CF8000 ExpeditionVehicle
Engine: Cummins 505ci mechanical
Rated Cap: Five Heelers
2003, we converted a 1997 Ford CF8000 commercial truck to our concept of an ExpeditionVehicle.
About eight years later, we needed new tires... not because of wear, but because they 'timed out'.
According to the manufacturer build-date molded into the side-wall, our tires were approaching ten, and conventional tire 'rule-of-thumb' says replace them at six years old.
Discussing this with one of the walking encyclopedias at Wyatt Tires in Eugene, Oregon, we realized we could gain just over two inches ground-clearance by going from 22.5 low-profile to 24.5 high-profile tires.
Our new ground-clearance is right at 16" (sixteen inches).
The toy-hauler I built on another commercial chassis would gain about an inch going from light-duty 16" tires/wheels to commercial-rated 19.5" tires/wheels.
A big benefit for us is the increase in the safety factor.