Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-11-2023, 09:51 AM   #1

Question Newbie shopping for minibus that can tow a 3000lb trailer (loaded)

Hi All,

I have a mobile boutique set in a pInk vintage travel trailer that i tow. I'm shopping for a mini bus that can handle that load with ease. I'm a newbie so I'm guessing diesel over gas but am looking for input on all aspects please.

Thanks ☺️

Pinkytow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2023, 10:10 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2005
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: FS65
Engine: Mercedes 6.4L
Rated Cap: just the 2 of us
Diesel engines vs gas engines. Both have strong and weak points.
If you make short trips then I would go with gas...they are generally cheaper to maintain.

But, to get a good answer, we need more info. Are you driving 20 miles a day, 3 days a week? More? Less? What part of the country are you in? Cold weather? Hot?

Will you be towing in the mountains?

Many things to consider....
BarnYardCamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2023, 07:34 PM   #3

New York so cold in winter. Anywhere from 20-90 miles per day in spring/summer/fall much less in winter. Not typically through mountains maybe occasionally.i was thinking diesel due to greater life expectancy of the engine.
Old 02-11-2023, 08:33 PM   #4
Bus Nut

with the modern ultra low Sulphur diesel fuel I question if diesel engines will last as long as they used to.
Hopefully, someone with more knowledge will jump in here.

My 2 cents...I'd lean towards a gasoline engine for what you described as your intended use.
Old 02-11-2023, 10:07 PM   #5

Any idea of average lifespan of gas bus engine. Idk if it makes sense to buy one with 150k on odometer. I tried to Google but just saw really high numbers which I'm figuring are for diesel. I would steer clear of 150k on a car but a bus that might not be a lot idk
Old 02-12-2023, 06:35 AM   #6
Bus Nut