Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-09-2022, 11:51 PM   #1

Nomadic welding?

Hi Tony here,
Very new to this although I've romanticized the idea for a while. Recently my partner brought up buying land and living in a trailer and kind of sparked a new flame in me about exploring the idea of being a little more nomadic. We own a house now in Maryland and in the few years since we bought have a large amount of equity built up. So would be nice to cash out and maybe explore a little bit. I'm not a fan of Maryland but don't really know where I want to be. So the idea of moving around until I find where I want to be sounds enticing to me. I'm a welder by trade and have recently embarked in setting out into my own business. I have been thinking about expanding that and doing more of a traveling welding business. Traveling to where the work is packing up and moving to the next place. Anyone have any insights if I'm out of my head or do something similar that can offer up some help?

Ttweldingandfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2022, 09:23 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2002
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: International/IC Bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 78
Biggest problem I see is the work vehicle. Towing a heavy welding rig/service truck with a bus is going to be an issue. Without a service truck of some sort, I don't think you'll be as successful as you'd like when performing field welding/fabrication jobs.

The only other option I see is to get a large dognose or FE bus and build a 10' service bed on the back 10' of frame. Leave the rest of the bus for living space. The issue there is whether or not you and your partner can live comfortably fulltime in a bus with 10' less space on the back. Something like this:

RamRod4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2022, 03:12 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 86
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford B700
Engine: 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies